7 Deadly Sins Halloween Inspiration

 

What do you think of when you hear the word sloth? A cuddly animal or extreme laziness?  For me, it was all about creating a look that mirrored a bone idle meets glamour kind of style!

e.l.f's 7 Deadly Sins Sloth Makeup Look

e.l.f. Cosmetics UK 7 Deadly Sins – Sloth Makeup Look

 

When I chose this Sin as inspiration for my  Halloween look, the first thing I thought of was a dusty grey contour with a barely there lip.  I wanted to channel the ‘someone who feels they do not need to do anything for themselves ‘ vibe while keeping it glamorous.  I was way too excited to showcase these ideas through my makeup. I’ve even created a step-by-step guide for you here below!

Initially when planning my Sloth inspired look I wasn’t sure how far I could go in terms of creating the wow factor, but after experimenting with our gorgeous products, I found so many different textures and shades that would work together perfectly.

Charlotte's initial sloth makeup vision.

Charlotte’s initial sloth makeup vision.

To start off I applied HD Mattifying Foundation in Porcelain to create an even, flawless base ready for some serious gloomy contouring! I then took the 32 Piece Palette in Brights focusing on the darkest colours in the palette. I blended this under the cheekbones and right around the forehead whilst bringing it down the sides of the nose.  The best technique to apply this product is to buff it all out with a Complexion Brush, this avoids any harsh lines. The dusty contour worked perfectly to contrast against Laura’s porcelain skin tone.

Moving onto the eyes, I used our Jumbo Eyeshadow Stick in Midnight and applied it all over the lid and lower lash line, don’t worry too much about the neatness when applying as you want to create a ultra smokey effect. Using our Flawless Concealer Brush, I dipped back into the 32 Piece Palette and buffed the grey/black shadow all over the eye. Take the shadow diagonally up to your hairline to create a mask like effect. Although I wanted to keep the overall look quite dull, I couldn’t resist a bit of shimmer. Using our Mineral Eyeshadow in Socialite, I sprinkled it over the lid. Laura has piercing blue eyes so this added extra haunting sparkle!

Taking a clean mascara wand, I combed Laura’s eyebrows upward, ready for our Essentials Liquid Eyeliner in Silver application. I then covered the whole eyebrow to create a cold, icy effect.

TOP TIP: Before the liner dries be sure to comb the eyebrow hairs upwards for a fuzzy effect. I applied this 3 times to ensure they were completely coated and stuck in place.

The look is almost complete! To add an extra spooky touch, I used our Eyeshadow Primer in Sexy Silver for the lips. This is absolutely fabulous, as it once it dries it does not budge!

Lastly, I used our Mineral Eyeshadow in Innocent, which is a matte white shadow. I pressed this just under the eyes to get rid of any drop down from the darker shadows.

The look is complete! Capturing laziness through makeup can be challenging but with these products you cannot go wrong!

What do you think of this look? Do you have a sloth side to you too? I’d love to see your creations and hopefully I’ve inspired your Halloween look!

Tweet me your creations @elfstorecardiff

Charlotte ☺

Thanks for commenting! :)

