Tutorial: Romantic Valentine’s Makeup

Here at e.l.f. HQ we’re getting ready to embrace the arrival of Valentine’s Day in our social calender! Whilst some of us are headed out on hot dates, the rest of us are getting together with our girls for a pamper sesh and movie marathon – hello Zac Efron in The Lucky One! Our e.l.f. Artist Antonia has created this romantic, old – Hollywood inspired makeup look which you can wear out and dazzle your date with, or practice and perfect on your pals if you’re having a chilled night in.

IMG_2970(2)

e.l.f. Valentine's Makeup Tutoriale.l.f. Valentine's Makeup Tutorial

Valentine's Makeup

Ready to give the look at go? Here’s what you’ll need:

Eyes:
Sheer Eyeshadow Primer £1.95
Mineral Eyeshadow – Elegant £3.00
50pc Makeup Artist Palette – Purple £15.00
Precision Liquid Liner £3.95
Mineral Infused Mascara £3.95
Studio Baked shadow – Burnt Plum £3.95
Cream Eyeliner – Coffee £3.95
Kohl Liner (Inner Eye) £3.95
Everyday Corner Lashes £4.95

Brows:
Cream Eyeliner – Coffee £3.95
Tone Correcting Concealer (Brow Highlight) £1.95

Base:
Moisturising Foundation Stick – Natural £7.95
Essentials Cover Everything Concealer – Yellow £2.95
Complete Coverage Concealer – Dark £3.95
Contouring Blush and Bronzing Powder – St Lucia £3.95
Studio Translucent Matte Powder £3.95
Mineral Booster – Corrective Yellow £5.95
Essentials Facial Whip – Golden Peach £1.95

Lips:
Lip Liner and Blend Brush – Red £3.95
Matte Lip Colour – Red £3.95
Lip Stain – Red £3.95
Cream Liner – Coffee ( Lip Contour) £3.95

Let’s get started as Antonia tells you how it’s done…

Eyes

Start by applying the Studio Eyeshadow Primer all over your bare eyelid. Then apply the Mineral Eyeshadow in “Elegant” on top of the primer and tear duct. Now apply apply the light purple shade from the 50 Piece Eyeshadow Palette above the crease of your eye, apply all of the way across. Apply the plum shade from the 50 Piece Eyeshadow Palette on the outer corner of your eye blending out towards your temple and up towards your crease. Blend this colour under your eye also to create a smoky effect. Next, place the Baked Eyeshadow in Burnt Plum and the Cream Eyeliner in Coffee under the eye and blend to create extra smoulder! To make the eye look bolder, apply the Studio Kohl Liner to your lower and upper water line and also the Precision liquid liner across your lid, staying very close to the lashes. Apply your mascara, I chose the Mineral infused as is combs and thickens the lashes. Wiggle your mascara wand in the tube and the apply to the lashes, wiggling the brush throughout your lashes. Use the pointed end of the mascara wand on the upper, inner and outer lashes to achieve defined lashes to your desired effect.

Brows

After I finished my eyes, I filled in my brows with the Studio Cream Eyeliner in Coffee. I used a Flat Eyeliner Brush to achieve extreme precision! I then highlighted and cleaned up any mistakes using the Tone Correcting Concealer with a Small Precision brush to blend.

Base

Before starting my base, I cleaned up all fall-out from the eyeshadow using a Cleansing wipe. Using a Flawless Concealer brush I applied the Essentials Cover Everything Concealer under the eyes forming a triangle shape in my eye contour area. I also applied this product under my contour line and the centre of my face. This includes my forehead and the centre of my nose,(Creating a tree shape), my cupids bow and chin. After applying the Yellow concealer, I used the Pointed Foundation Brush to apply the darkest colour in the Dark Concealer Kit on the contours of my face. This includes my cheekbones, around my forehead, each side of my nose and under my lip in the centre.

Now to blend! I blended and merged the colours together with the Moisturising Foundation Stick and Powder Brush.
When blending, I blended most of the colour upwards and the lighter colours outwards. I added the Essentials Facial Whip in Golden Peach to my upper cheekbones, cupids bow, the centre of my nose and forehead using the Small Stipple Brush. Then I set my base using the Translucent Pressed Powder with a Complexion Brush. I set my under eyes with the Mineral Powder in Corrective Yellow using the Mineral Powder brush.

Lips

Finally, I lined my lips using the Red Lip Liner and filled in with the Matte Lip Colour in Red. I then coated the whole of my lips with the Lip Stain In Red Carpet. I used the Cream Eyeliner in Coffee on the outer corners to contour my lips.

Will you be trying this tutorial for Valentine’s this year? Let us know if you’ll be giving it a go or if you have any questions about recreating this look! Our team of e.l.f. Artists are on-hand with their expert advice! Tweet us @elfCosmeticsUK

@elfcosmeticsuk

Antonia, XOXO

2 thoughts on “Tutorial: Romantic Valentine’s Makeup

Thanks for commenting! :)

